2014….Looking ahead

January 3, 2014 — Leave a comment

First of all, I want to thank everyone who followed me on my hijinks in Curacao. I definitely am grateful for the opportunity I had to connect with many people through this blog and my time in the Caribbean. If you have reached out to me in the last months, and I havent replied, I apologize! Feel free to send me an email with any questions you may have about my experience on the island.  I’ve been back in Washington for the last few months, and while I have made the decision to pursue other directions with my career, I find myself often reflecting on life back in Curacao. Many people ask me how I did it, how I decided to pack up my life and move to a tiny island. Obviously one of my reasons for doing so was because of a relationship. But even so, I was ready for an adventure. I saved up a few months of living expenses. Before making the jump, I tried to reach out to people on the island via social media and email who I knew might be able to help me in my writings. I did as much research as I could on the immigration options (That turned out to be a nightmare). The biggest step was just booking the ticket. Setting the date. Getting on that plane.

Similarly, learning when it was time to let go, to make that return trip back to continue pursuing dreams, was just as scary, and just as necessary. Chapters begin and end, people come and go, mistakes are made, and lessons are learned, but the most important thing I have learned is to keep moving, to keep trying new things, and to just…trust yourself.

Learning about Curacao’s past role in the slave trade and the African influence in the culture and language  has served to strengthen my resolve to study and write about culture, development, and politics of Africa and the diaspora. I know that it is social media-fashionable to tell the world about what one plans to achieve this year, but I’m a believer in “don’t talk about it, be about it”. letting one’s work speak for itself. Good things are to come in 2014. Please stay tuned!

I wish you and yours all the best in 2014!

 

Karen

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

What do you think?

