Reflections

December 30, 2011 — 2 Comments

Lame title, but I couldn’t really think of anything else.

I said I wouldn’t do this much. “This” meaning, writing posts that were more personal in nature. But on the last full weekend of 2011, I want to take the time out to share a few things.

This year has been nothing short of a roller coaster, with intense highs, and  lows. I’ve traveled to speak at Oxford University in the UK, worked at the United Nations, met Alicia Keys and was in an episode for MTV Base in Africa. However,  2010 into 2011 has also been a year of heartbreaks, school pressures, medical emergencies, a close mentor’s death,  angst about even being in this field of “international development”, among other things.

I know God is there somewhere. But I admit, this year has taken its toll. With that said, I’ll be going off the grid for a week to clear my head, soul, and mind before my last semester of graduate school.

But I wanted to say, I’m extremely blessed and grateful to all of you who have encouraged me with this blog and to keep writing. I know I have not written as much as I should have, or would like to. But a good friend of mine encouraged me to channel energy into writing, creating, recording expressing, and sharing with you all.

I’ve been getting inquiries and requests about the shea butter, and I love that you guys appreciated it so much. I’ve been so busy with school that I have barely had time to properly make batches for myself, even. But a good friend of mine over Twitter has requested some samples, and I will be making more upon my return to NYC in a couple of days. Hold tight!

Again, I thank all of you for your support and encouragement. I will be writing more in 2012, thats for sure. Feel free to reach out to me for anything, and of course, directly via Twitter (@KarenAttiah).

2 responses to Reflections

  1. 

    I’ve enjoyed reading your thoughts this year. I hope 2012 brings many wonderful journeys your way.

What do you think?

