Clinique? Cli-nope!

July 9, 2010 — 4 Comments

Um, no. Buh-Bye.

Over the past couple of months, I decided that I wanted to live my life differently, not just spiritually, but physically. Deciding to wear my hair naturally without chemicals also spurred a wave of other changes, most notably in how I take care of my skin. I used to use Clinique since high school, but honestly, my new routine is WAY easier on the budget and has kept my skin clearer and softer than any commercial product system I’ve used.

  • I wash my face with a bar of black soap. For those of you have not tried it, it’s soap made from oils found in West Africa, most notably palm kernel oils and shea butter. Changed my life. Bar soaps last a lot longer than liquid ones, and are easier to travel with.
  • I use a homemade spritz toner using water, aloe vera gel, pure witch hazel, and drops of lavender and peppermint essential oils.
  • I use a small amount of pure sweet almond oil as a moisturizer. Almond oil is a light oil, that is non greasy, and does not clog pores.  Makes my skin soft and gives it a nice sheen without looking like I dumped my face in Crisco.

And that’s it. Saves a ton of money for me. One bar of soap can last about three to four months. Three ounces of the toner last for a while too. And all it takes is a couple of drops for the almond oil, and voila! Au revoir, Clinique! And take your price tag with you! 🙂

I use Dudo Osun Bar soap. Less than $5!

4 responses to Clinique? Cli-nope!

  1. 

    I’m with you, Karen! I’m trying to use as many natural products as possible. I use “Say Yes to Carrots” products for hair, face and body products (they have great masks for hair and face!) and Aveda for make-up. They’re not perfect but they are cheaper than a lot of options and cut down on the worst stuff! good luck with your quest for the natural! 🙂

  2. 

    I too am loving black soap! I wish that I had found it ages ago, frees up the skincare routine greatly, doesn’t it? lol

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com/2010/07/05/african-black-soap/

  3. 

    Love it! A few weeks ago I went to a health food store and the owner recommended black soap as well. I have a slight problem: It has dried my skin a lot so I stopped using for a few days and just used water. I use a Vitamin E stick to moisturize and combat the dryness from the soap. I am going to try some jojoba oil to cleanse to see if I have a less adverse reaction. Do you have any other suggestions?

    Thanks!

    • 

      Its true that not all black soaps are created equal. I’ve used one brand that was way too oily and caused me to break out. I’ve used Dr. Bronner’s castile soap for cleansing, and that worked out fine. Jojoba oil/Vitamin E are good. I still also stand by almond oil as a great solution for a light moisturizer. Apricot Kernel oil is thicker and also an option. Let me know how it goes!

What do you think?

