Happy Africa Day + Lemongrass Shea Giveaway Time Again!

May 25, 2010 — 1 Comment

Happy Africa Day!!

“I am a man of peace, of ideas, appalled by the denigrating poverty of my people who live on a richly endowed land distressed by their political marginalization and economic strangulation, angered by the devastation of their land , their ultimate heritage, anxious to preserve their right to life and to a decent living….I have no doubt at all about the ultimate success of my cause, no matter the trials and tribulations which I and those who believe with me may encounter on our journey. Neither death nor imprisonment can stop our ultimate victory.“- Ken Saro-Wiwa, Nigerian Playwright and activist

Kofi Ansah Design at Ghana Fahsion Week 2009

I’m wishing everyone a Happy African Union Day! Check out a little information about the day here. On this day in 1963, leaders of various African countries met to form the Organization for African Unity (OAU). Today is also called African Freedom Day, or Africa Liberation Day. I stand here with many voices and although many people and nations on the continent are bound by the chains of war, violence, oppression and poverty, there is hope. My prayers go out to the African nations and their leaders, that they may have the wisdom to make the right decisions for their people. Right now, I am re-reading Howard W. French’s (@hofrench) A Continent for The Taking: The Tragedy and Hope of Africa. It is an amazing book and I encourage everyone to read it for gripping firsthand accounts of French’s travels throughout Central and West Africa.

In celebration of Africa Day, I am going to do another whipped lemongrass shea butter sample giveaway this week!!! I’ve gotten very positive reviews on my first batch of samples and I decided to do another round! This time, the shea butter is straight from Ghana, which means the butter is a whitish color. Previously unknown to me, my mother had a huge block of raw shea butter that she brought back from Accra last year. Other than that, the recipe is the same. I do believe that this shea butter is richer, creamier, and more delightful than my previous stock. I use all natural oils, no alcohol, preservatives, or mineral oils. I use it everyday on my skin as a deep moisturizer.

So I’m willing to do 15 samples! First time requests will be honored first. Find me on twitter @karennattiah, DM me, or email me at karen.attiah@gmail.com with your information. The samples are FREE, and I will take care of shipping and handling. When you receive your sample, all I ask is that you fill out a short questionnaire about your thoughts about the sample!

One response to Happy Africa Day + Lemongrass Shea Giveaway Time Again!

  1. 

    I just happened upon your blog today (via Twitter)… nice.

What do you think?

